The beginning

After ENAJ was founded in December 2011, an eight-strong ‘project team’ was approved to run the organisation for the first 12 months.  Its duties were to formalise the structure and scope of the organisation, and to prepare for the first elections – of the management committee – which were held in December 2012.

There are nine members of the ENAJ management committee, elected from the 21 member states of ENAJ.

The most recent elections were held in November 2018, when nine candidates stood for the nine places available:


Hans Siemes, Netherlands, ENAJ chairman

Journalist, author and communicator; Director of Communicatiebureau Siemes & Partner
Editor of three magazines: Veepro Magazine (about breeding of dairy cows), Inzicht in Natuur (about nature and landscape) and the countryside glossy Naober (co-owner of this magazine).

Former president of the Dutch Association for Agricultural and Horticultural Journalism (NVLJ), executive of the IFAJ and treasurer of the ENAJ. With Adrian Bell, he edits the ENAJ Newsletter.

Married, three daughters and two granddaughters (a grandson is on his way).


Jef Verhaeren, Belgium, honorary president

Lisa Bellochi, Italy, Vice-Chairwoman, Young Journalists & Education

Journalist, author and broadcaster; president of the Emilia Romagna-Marche-Umbria Guild of agricultural journalists (UNAGA) and Italy’s executive representative for IFAJ.

Lisa has worked for 30 years in Rai, the Italian television network, presenting weekly national programmes about agriculture and agri-food industries. She is a freelance journalist for a number of magazines and webzines.

She teaches journalism at the Bologna University.


Damien O’Reilly, Ireland, ENAJ secretary

Damien O’Reilly works as a broadcaster with the Irish national broadcaster RTE.

He has worked there since 1998 mainly on agricultural radio programmes. He presents Countrywide, a weekly magazine programme focusing on farming, food and rural affairs. It is among the most listened to programmes on Irish radio (source JNLR).

Damien has also worked across other areas including news, current affairs and sport. He was part of the RTE team which covered the 2008 and 2016 Olympic games in Beijing and Rio respectively.

Damien has won numerous awards during his twenty-year career working in radio. This includes twice winner of the IFAJ Star Prize for broadcasting (2012 and 2016). He was also named the Irish PPI Speech Broadcaster of the year in 2015.

Damien has been a member of the committee of the Guild of Agricultural Journalists of Ireland since 2000 and has been twice chairman. He lives in Dublin, Ireland. 


Katharina Seuser, Germany


Adrian Bell, Great Britain, ENAJ international liaison

Formerly ENAJ’s communications officer, Adrian Bell is a past chairman of the British Guild of Agricultural Journalists (BGAJ). He is the founder of Agro Mavens, a specialist agricultural and agtech marketing and communications consultancy working with a variety of globally active clients, and AgTech Compass, a pathfinder service for the UK’s agtech community.

In 2014, he chaired ‘Innovations from a Small Island’, the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) Congress held in Great Britain. Having represented BGAJ on the IFAJ Executive Committee, he is now IFAJ Treasurer.

Vedran Stapic, Croatia

Adrian Krebs, Switzerland, Press Trips

Adrian Krebs is the past president (2003-2012) of the Swiss Federation of Agricultural Journalists and a former member of the IFAJ executive committee.

He is the chief editor of Swiss farmers weekly “BauernZeitung” and the magazines “die grüne” and “FrauenLand”.

Yanne Boloh, France

Contact the team

If you have any comments or contributions please contact Adrian or Hans